Well, that's even more than less than unhelpful.

Well I’m Awfully Sorry NCU Advisor, But I Think I Might Be Headed In Another Direction Than English. In Fact History. At a Different College.

Hey ——!

I’ve been doing a bit of soul searching recently and have been trying to figure out where I intend on ending up some day. It took only a few moments for me to realize that I didn’t want a career, I didn’t want to teach English, and I certainly didn’t want to write a book. Writing a book (and teaching) both require a stupendous amount of knowledge regarding grammar. Which I lack. Writing a book is also out of the question as I’m quite sure the inner workings of my sarcastic and cynical mind might create and/or spur on World War III. What do I want to do with my life? What have I always looked on with love? History. That’s right–history. And here we come to the large bump in the road–the fact that North Central University does not offer a History degree programme! I’ve always thought that if I ever had to teach it would be in the area of history (and that if I didn’t teach I could sure wield I nice shovel in the pursuit of archaeology). What my real passion is a specialization in Celtic culture and history or even simply a specialization in the history regarding the Britons. Prospective colleges right now include anything from the U of M to the University of Glasgow in Scotland (although my parents are quite keen on me doing my postgraduate work over there and my undergraduate work over here). And here we have finally arrived–should I switch my prospective classes this semester to generals? I feel that the courses History of the English Language and British Literature may still possibly blend in with my future, but some others (like Greek and Theatre Literature) may be less applicable. Any thoughts regarding this would be much appreciated!

Thanks much and cheers,

Mo


2 responses

  1. michellekthooft

    Ok, this is brilliant. Someone else I know and love dearly is a History major. I won’t tell you who. But what I really wanted to say is, Mo, you’re amazing. You’re incredibly gorgeous, smart, funny, quick witted, and all around generally fabulous. You will succeed no matter what you do, ’cause whatever you do will have you attached to it. So. You can spend your life washing dishes in the middle school cafeteria and you will inadvertedly (sp!?!?) start a revolution.

    And as my favorite daddy always says, when people ask him if they should be a pastor or a doctor or what, he says: “I don’t know, pick something. Then, heal the sick, raise the dead, and set the captives free.”

    đŸ™‚ yahahhhahaaaaaa!

    July 15, 2010 at 3:53 am

    • Aww shucks. Thanks for the props. I think I’m beginning to realize more that whatever I put my hand to, God has a plan for that.
      Let me guess–the person you know–is SPOCK.

      July 15, 2010 at 8:07 am

Leave a Reply

