Well, that's even more than less than unhelpful.

Making Life Decisions at 3:27 AM. That’s Ovaltine For You.

So. As many of you already know, I am transferring to BSU in Bemidji, MN, in the year of our Lord 2011 during the season of autumn. Of course, when I registered for my fall classes at NCU last spring, I was kind of counting on being an English Literature major with a minor in Greek. Now I fully intend to be a History major with a possible minor in Monty Python. (They don’t offer Greek at BSU.) So, as one might imagine, the credits required for either major are just a bit slightly hugely gigantically abysmally different. And so here I am, at 3:30 in the morning, trying to figure out what to do with my courses at NCU this fall. First of all, I must have been very happy in my English class last spring (I’d chalk it up to the Lord of the Rings research paper) as I registered for three english classes in the fall. That’s right. And one of the them is senior level. Senior in college level. Oh, and Greek. And three English classes. How the heck am I going to write research papers for three different English classes at once, all the while juggling Greek, Psychology, and Public Speaking (which arguably PS does not really worry me a bit.) So, I’ve made the decision to cut Greek. Let’s face it people, where am I going to use Greek? BUT GREEK WOULD BE SO AWESOME WITH A HISTORY MAJOR! BUT BSU doesn’t offer it as a language (and I’m not even sure it would transfer) so that one semester of Greek would be a bit superflous in the long run. Also of the above three English classes I need to cut one out.

1. British Literature

  • Pros: It transfers. It’s British. It’s Literature. It’s British. Gary Dop.
  • Cons: What could be wrong with British Literature? Ridiculous to even consider.

2. History of the English Language

  • Pros: It has the word “history” in the title. It must be applicable. Carolyn Tennant. Etymology.
  • Cons: It might possibly maybe NOT transfer. I can’t figure it out.

3. Theatre Literature

  • Pros: Rozencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead. I like theatre.
  • Cons: Not applicable. At this point. Well, I guess it is. BUT.

GAAAAH. I hate decisions. I was gonna get rid of Theater Literature and now I don’t know if I should get rid of History…no it’s history…British…no it’s BRITISH FOR PETE’S SAKE! Theatre Literature is out then. But what to replace it with?!

MPPYHS101: Course Description: What floats? Very small rocks and ducks.

If only.

PS/A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER:

So. I cut Greek. And History of the English Language. I know I said I was going to cut Theatre Lit, but I decided to keep it. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead needs to be read.

PPS/ONE DAY AFTER THE COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER:

So. I did cut Greek. And I did cut History of the English Language. But then I had a ridiculous class with an unsavory professor where I had to deal with the whole mosque debate. So I cut that class. And replaced it with History of the English Language. Which happened at the same time as that class. Oh yeah, it’s etymology. And I’m totally loving it.

2 responses

  1. Michelle Thooft

    Can I just say that BSU is so incredibly overwhelmingly honored to get you as a student???

    I am saying it to the whole world, via cyberspace.

    child. hurry the year.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    August 3, 2010 at 2:56 pm

  2. Now is about the time where I call the Doctor and tell him to hurry up and materialize with the Tardis. ๐Ÿ˜€

    August 3, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Leave a Reply

