Well, that's even more than less than unhelpful.

Before He Was Professor X: He Had Hair.

Yup. He had hair. Just saw the trailer for “X-men: First Class”. So stoked for that. Yay, Erik and Charles rivalry. And mostly “yay James McAvoy”. The only man to ever make me fall awkwardly in love with a goat. Ultimate X-men was the comic series I grew up on and I’m really excited for the adaptation of their earlier lives. (Oh! And soon–the new spiderman series–is going to be directly based on Ultimate Spiderman! My super absolute favorite! Mark Bagley=best graphic novel artist. That is all! Woohoo!) So excited about those.

And about every other superhero  movie coming out this year (except for Green Lantern). Why Green Lantern? From what I’ve seen of the previews, I’m not so interested. Ryan Reynolds can’t be Deadpool and Hal Jordan at the same time. (Although, arguably yes he can–as they are separate Marvel and DC universes–but I simply refuse out of principal.) And then that raises questions about the fact that the Human Torch and Captain America are going to be played by the same actor. (Which doesn’t really bother me as it’s been longer–although, arguably he shouldn’t be allowed to as they are in the same Marvel universes–but enough with the technicalities!) I’m even more interested in Thor. And that’s saying something. (And mostly only for the Norse mythology). Well, also for the fact that IT’S ABOUT THOR. Right then. But most excited for: the third in Nolan’s trilogy featuring Tom Hardy as the bad guy “Bane”. Don’t recognize him? He was the lovely British man in Inception–the forger.

So lovely.

Needless to say, it’s going to be awesome.

Saw “The Social Network” this week. Wasn’t really impressed. After all of the buzz that I heard, I was totally expecting this to be way better. Yeah, it was well done. But really REALLY not interesting. But maybe someday I’ll be more interested in stories about people screwing over their friends for the new guy. Maybe. Hopefully not. Although–to some extent–I must admit that I found Eisenberg’s neuroticism hilarious. What else did I see this week? Zombieland.

That’s right. I thought “Zombieland” was better than “The Social Network”. That shows how much taste I have: zero. But come on. It was hilarious. And way less gory than I thought it was going to be. Just remember.

DOUBLE TAP.

For the Win.

Oh. And I have bronchitis.

2 responses

  1. Ryan

    If you want to get technical, Professor X always had hair when he was younger, but he lost his hair some time between his brother becoming Juggernaut and meeting Magneto, both of which were a few years before he recruited Scott Summers as the first X-Man.

    Also if you want to get technical, Ultimate Spider-man wasn’t a graphic novel. It was a trade paperback, which is the name usually given to collections of issues of a comic book. Graphic Novels are released more like a regular novel, but are in comic form.

    I think the reason Marvel cast Chris Evans as Cap is because the consider the movies before Ironman as not having happened, so he never played Human Torch. they are basically creating a new universe, kind of like the DCAU, only with feature films.

    How can you not be interested in Green Lantern! i think Reynolds would make a better Guy Gardner, but after watching the trailer a few (hundred) times, I think he will do a fine job. after all, the character is only as good as the writers make him. and since Goeff Johns is getting excited about it (and not just in areas controlled by DC, but on stuff like his twitter account as well) I’m taking it as a good sign as far as writing is concerned. Of course it’s Green Lantern. I might be a bit biased. They would have to try really really hard to make a movie I wouldn’t like.

    February 12, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    • I’m so glad you just took the time to write all of that.
      I think I automatically grouped Ultimate Spiderman and Ultimate X-Men in with graphic novels because I’ve always read them in the “Ultimate Collection” form–the one that puts several issues together to fulfill a story arc. I still love Mark Bagley.

      But, Ryan Reynolds? I feel like this one is going to be a good riff-traxer.
      But who knows? I’m sure it will fulfill most of your Green Lantern dreams. 😄

      February 12, 2011 at 8:46 pm

Leave a Reply

